World Machine Terrains Or Hand Placed Mesh

Hey Guys! I’m working on a game and my target platform is PC. My game is a narrative kinda game with lot of outdoor scenes. So, I was wondering what method should I use in order to create my maps or outdoor terrains.

Should I make them using World Machine(and UE4 landscape tool) or create some mesh and place them by hand as done inside the elemental demo. I’m trying to achieve a terrain something like the one in Vanishing of Ethan Carter.

I’m new to PC game development, so I thought I should ask the experts or the experienced ones. And I also want to know which method is gonna be more CPU friendly(optimized).

Hope you guys can help.

Thank You

I personally would do it with landscapes (world machine, ue4 tool), because you can modify it directly in the engine + they already have LOD’s + texture painting :slight_smile: After that add meshes (e.g foliage, buildings,…) to it -> you create those assets in your 3d program

Hi Amaresh,

There are really three ways you have to work with some outdoor style terrains that I would use.

1. Landscape Tool in UE4
  2. World Machine, Terragen, or similar third party heightmap generation program
  3. Sculpting a static mesh in your modeling program of choice

Often times there may be a combination of these that you would use rather than focusing on one particular one. It all depends on your skill with varying programs and the look/style your want for your game.

For optimization out of the box I would suggested UE4’s Landscape tool and a heightmap generated from #2. The landscapes that UE4 already use a LOD system to keep them optimized and since option #2 gives you a heightmap you can plug into the Landscape tool to get your terrain it is fully optimized in that sense.