Working with custom C++ code

Hello everyone, I am an experienced developer that just moved from Unity3D to Unreal Engine.

I have done basics tutorials, but I need some help to how to structure my code as I found no good tutorials or answers in this forum about the topic.

The structure I want to have is the following:

Logic:Pure C++ static classes and functions that drive all the logic.
Controller: C++ classes that will react on input/network and send events to the logic.
Model: Pure C++ classes/structs that keeps the application persistent data.
View: Contains C++ Classes and Unreal blueprients/actors that will display everything the player can see.

As you notice, the only part where I want to be dependent on Unreal Engine is the view, and maybe to some extent in the controller (for keyboard/mouse input).

However, I stumbled upon some serious problems, for example when I create a blank C++ file it won’t even show up in the editor, even if I add the UCLASS macro.
I am just wondering if anyone with experience can tell me how they deal with custom C++ code in their projects.

I don’t have much to say when it comes to your structure but if you add a C++ / Header file to the project, that is not from the editor feature of “add new class”, you can right click your .uproject and “Generate visual studio project files”. This should run through any of the code files added and then add them to the project.

Sounds like you could do with doing a few tutorials, as the questions you ask will be answered by example: Look at the Geting Started with C++ sticky for lots of ideas on where to go next.

Also note that implemeting a MVC or MVVM model withing UE4 would be going against the grain and you’d fight with the UE4 implementations every step along the way. Unlike in Unity3D, a UE4 project is not a blank slate. You have the entire gameplay framework right off the bat, and it doesn’t lend itself well to something like you’re trying to do. Good luck either way though!