Working on a new MOD with a full Ragnarok sized custom map for my group

So this is my first time building a MOD for ARK, although I have plenty of experience working on game engines back in the day. The last time I worked with UE was UE2, although I have worked with another engine a while back. My post is about my ideas and ways to do things with the UE4 engine under ADK. I am using 3DS max with a subscription, so I’d like to at least get my $150/mo out of that as well, even though I am a coder not a graphics artist. So any advice on that end of things would be most welcome.

My original idea was to build a new map using the largest volume the game will support, and then create regional zones based upon climates using an Earth based northern hemisphere model for climates, then populate zones with Flora based upon the climates and water content of the area. Once that is done I intend to move on to populating the zones with creatures based upon habitat, climate, and food sources. Being realistic, to be specific. You don’t find many if any reptiles roaming in sub-zero temperatures, for instance. Wind behavior would be part of that process as well as rain, electrical storms, sand storms, etc.