Workflow: Windows UE4 editor, C++ via GCC in WSL?

Good day, all! I’m an experienced developer in other engines but relatively new to UE4 (loving it so far), and I have a workflow question. I hope the subject line has enough TLAs (three-letter acronyms) to satisfy my fellow geeks. :slight_smile:

I boot Windows 10 Pro, 64 bit, but I’m a long-time (20+ years) Linux sysadmin and do a lot of my work using the WSL 2 command line with Ubuntu or Debian distros. I’m a whole lot more comfortable with Linux shells and tool chains and haven’t done any C/C++ development on Windows since the late 1990s.

Microsoft offers VS Code for free, but I’m happy with JetBrains Rider as a source code editor and don’t really want to have to learn another IDE.

Has anyone built a UE4 dev environment where UE4 runs in native Windows but C++ code is compiled using GCC from a WSL 2 instance? There are sections in the UE4 docs on using GCC, but my “read” is that the docs are intended for when UE4 editor is being run under Linux, or if one is building UE4 from source. I didn’t see any mention of WSL in that section.

One obstacle I could see is how to invoke the compiler from UE4. WSL can invoke Linux executables from the Windows host, but doing something as complicated as a C++ compile and link is more challenging than just running a little bash script to automate system housekeeping, etc. I’m confident I can resolve that part of things on my own, because I’ve already dealt with similar challenges for my non-UE4 work.

The parts that I don’t know on my own, and am hoping someone else can enlighten me, are:

1. How hard is it to decouple UE4 editor from its default expectation of VS as the C++ build chain?
  2. If I am able to invoke GCC instead of VS, does UE4 expose all the needed Unreal headers and linkable libraries in a GCC-accessible way?