Workflow to create a level based on an existing building

Hi everyone,

I’m creating a game taking place in an existing building (I would like my level to be an exact replica of what the building looks like in real life).
So since I’m working with existing geometry, I can’t really use modular assets as the spacing between doors and windows are predetermined and varying greatly.
The building is huge (around 300,000 sq ft).

My question is, how would you guys create that level?

Would you create it as one giant static mesh in blender or 3ds, and then export that monster of a mesh into ue?
I’m afraid the collisions would be a nightmare to figure out.

Would you create one static mesh per room and then snap them together in ue4?

Would you create the level entirely in ue4?

I should specify that I’m a novice, so any advice or input is welcome.

Thanks!

The real life size of the building doesn’t matter that much. What matters is the number of polygons/triangles the model you created will be made of. And then materials complexity.
If your plan is having just that single huge building as long as you it won’t be 100Million+ polygons it should be ok on most systems. If you plan to make the game run on mobile platforms then you should avoid having too many polygons. Regardless have 3 to 5 LOD levels for each mesh to improve performance. I don’t think you will need more than 1Million polygons for the whole building with its interiors anyway even if you wanted to retain all the tiny details. You should divide the building per material type (all concrete meshes, all metal meshes, all glass meshes) and for each floor too.

Since yesterday, I tried out Unreal Studio and DataSmith Revit Exporter and it works surprisingly well!
So it looks like I can model the existing building in Revit (all the stairs, walls, doors and windows) and then export that to Unreal and Unreal will create all the meshes automatically.