Workflow for creating a nanite static mesh based character? Like AncientOne in Valley of Ancients demo

As only static meshes are supported nanite, that limits to non organic characters, with static mesh’s attached to the skeleton. Cool, I want to try and do that.

Now my question is how on earth did they construct the ancient one for the demo, it is comprised of over 100 static meshes. I’ve tried importing a FBX, and choosing to make nanite static meshes instead of a skeletal mesh. But it just creates a static mesh per object, did they painstakingly construct the mesh hierarchy in the BP_AncientOne blueprint by hand?

When investigating the BP_AncientOne, I see the hierarchy of static meshes. What I don’t see is the mechanism to attach them to a specific bone? I don’t see sockets being used, any special logic in the initialization… what am I not seeing?

1 Like

interested in this workflow as well. I’m currently studying a lot about character creation and about best practices with Nanite but unfortunately there doesn’t seem to be much information for anything as of yet. I suppose it’s best to wait until it is fully released and hope for deep dives on the best practices for that sort of thing.

Bump, any ideas?

Create a blueprint with a skeletal mesh. Then just place your Nanite static meshes under that skeleton in the blueprint hierarchy. Use the Parent Socket attribute to choose which limb its attached to. Regarding the pains-taking nature of the proces, you can probably automate it with some scripting, depending on how many characters you need to set up this way. Or just bite the bullet and do it by hand.

Here’s a jank-tastic version I quickly roughed up:

Thanks for the reply.

I’ve played around with this a good deal. I just have one big stumbling block:

When I have the mesh imported, it’s vertices are already placing it where it needs to be, assuming a zero transform. (See z fighting in first image to confirm this).