Workflow for building Customizable Character

Hi there everyone! I’m pretty new around here, so any help would be greatly appreciated. I’m an artist/animator currently working in a company doing simulators. We’re in the midst of building a game engine which allows players to customize their characters according to various professions. As such, I’ve been tasked to come up with a workflow in which we’ll have a base character, but the costumes can be swappable ala Dark Souls or Skyrim, based on chosen occupation. From what I’ve read in most forums, at least for Unity and UDK anyway, one way to do this is to model the costume as a separate mesh(es) and then skin them to the base character’s skeleton, after which we just import the meshes into the game engine and the programmers will do the rest. To my understanding, if the mesh detects the same base skeleton structure within the engine, it will begin to move with the base character.

Not sure if this is how it works in UE4? Or are there any alternatives/workarounds for this?

Once again, greatly appreciate any advice… been stressing over this for a few days now.

P.S. We’re planing to model the characters in 3DS Max, and subsequently rig it in Maya.

This thread may be of interest

For sure the technical requirements are there to make it happen and our team is currently looking into standardizing some of our player model designs to make it easier to build as many player models as we feel is needed so it’s the set up where things get a bit tricky and needs planning.

The first trick is to build a standard frame/rig that you can bind pose your assets off of and the rule is all things has to fit the rig. This way all of your animations will work with all of your characters with out the need for custom sets to fit a given character.