Download

[WIP] VRMMORPG (Noob Build)

Hi, My name is Sean. like most people I love Sword Art Online and would love to be in a VRMMORPG. So I thought I would have fun and build one in my spare time. I have a level that I have started to block out and using the VR template that was made by a epic community member for the pawn. I tested a few things to see how it would look like as I am a noob. I found that if I did the buildings modular and placed them together, my frame rate was bad. As I have a low end computer that is 2 years old with a radeon HD 7800 series. So I thought I would download one of the Top Down mobile assets to see what the frame rate would be. And I was getting great frame rates without any jutter which was great. So I got online and downloaded some free 3d assets that was what I was looking for so I could start blocking out the first city (starting point). Here is what the street may look like

1a6f303195b0fd4044850771d40d3abe07c0d63c.jpeg

As you can see, its only blocking and my next step is to go back to 3ds max and by using the images and models to great more detailed and also add some buildings that can be entered such as a bar, Inn and Armory.

I thought I would update what I have done so far. It isn’t a lot as I have made a procedural Building in blueprints and have all the meshes as instanced static meshes. And I have built all the pieces multiple times to get the look to have more detail. But I have tested a few pieces of walls to see how it looks and to check the frame rate. In the DK2 it is sitting on 50 FPS at 20.3 ms on a AMD 7800 series card. These meshes are for the LOD0 and I have a low poly versions that will be for further away, as you don’t need the detail as a Normal will do.

Here is the meshes in Max
476356a7bf6e1274ae405064b19b6cf9f741716c.png

As you can see the most the wall pieces has is about 8000 Tris.

Here is how it looks in the monitor
HighPolyBuildingTest.jpg