[WIP] Procedural mesh generation

I’ve been playing around with UE4 the last 3 days. Today I started on a procedural mesh generator blueprint written in c++ (Even though I’ve never written c++ before).
It’s still pretty basic, but I’m having fun and learning a ton!

Update 11.04.2015
Source code for the FoliageTileActor: Procedural foliage - Unreal Engine · GitHub
PS: Feel free to point out any bugs in it. No license, free to use :slight_smile:

I also ended up submitting a pull request to the engine. https://github.com/EpicGames/UnrealEngine/pull/1037

Looks like something similar to what is coming in 4.8 - they showed the BP in a video, it has a little more settings like a random seed for instance but great job!

The tree/grass features coming in 4.8 looks really awesome! Here is the video btw: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ispyNxpRyg

Update: Added support for layer restrictions

10f9d9c03a36efd58585d3294e91c3611de80973.jpeg

I did this mostly to learn since it’s coming with 4.8. I must say I learned a ton of stuff the last few hours! :smiley:
I decided to start over and make my own ForestGenerator blueprint in c++ based on the one coming in 4.8.

1. Spawn meshes based on a initial spawn radius.
  2. Add a spawn chance to make it more random
  3. Randomize the spawn within their area
  4. Spawn X children for Y number of steps around the parent mesh

1 child

5 children

3 children for 3 steps

1. Change size based on age

2. Add collision detection between trees

3. Add PhysicalMaterial filtering so you can limit where they spawn

4. Final result. The whole thing took about 4 hours to make. :slight_smile:
    2487e1921a35d634d0474cc3c9808ef697060dc7.jpeg