Will learning Directx help me with UE4 programming?

Hello community,

I shall introduce myself really short first, I’m a C++ programmer and I want to start making
games for some time. Unreal Engine 4 is my engine choice.

But I have a problem: I want to start making games with Unreal Engine 4, but my current
PC can’t handle it. I’m getting a new pc in some moths probably, but in the meantime I want to
start already. Before I decided to start with Unreal, I doubted if I should use an engine immidiately or
first make an engine with directx to learn more about game mechanics before I started.

In the end, I chose Unreal, but now I thought about the following: I can start with
learning Directx untill I get my pc and if I like it, I can still keep learning it alongside
Unreal Engine 4. But I only want to do this, if might help me a bit in understanding (making games with/programming in) Unreal Engine 4.

So my question: Will learning Directx help me in understanding making games with/programming in Unreal Engine 4.

Thanks

You will learn valuable knowledge but it will not be useful for UE4.

If you are not familiar with linear algebra it will help you understand how to work in 3D in general.

First: “DirectX” is an old technology umbrella, that used to include things like DirectPlay (networking) DirectInput (controllers) DirectSound (sound) as well as Direct3D (3D graphics.)
All of those bits have been deprecated by Microsoft for a long time, except for Direct3D. Thus, if you want to learn networking, you should look at WinSock. If you want to learn sound, you should look at CoreAudio. If you want to learn controllers, you should look at XInput.

But, for 3D graphics, Direct3D is where it’s at. And, understanding how the 3D graphics hardware works is very important if you want to go deep inside getting AAA-level results from the Unreal Engine.