Widget remove from parent bug how to fix!?

So I’m just testing/setting up a simple currency system and I’ve run in to a problem that I don’t know how to solve. Basically when I pick up the in game currency I’m adding a widget to the screen then using delay for 3 seconds then removing from parent to get rid of the widget. This works fine, however if I pick up more currency before the timer runs out the widget stays on the screen how do I fix this?

here’s a quick video to give you a better Idea of what I’m talking about the widget is the stuff displayed in the top right hand corner of the screen keep in mind this is simply a demo project to try and learn/figure out UE4 as I’m a noob.

Just tried that node it says it’s not compatible? Thanks for the reply btw.

@moderategamer

I know, what is causing this behaviour. Basicly you create a widget in the chain everytime the overlap happens. When you don’t overlap with something in about 3 seconds, the widget will be removed. However, the problem here is, when you overlap a currency object before the delay runs out, you create and add a second widget. You end up having 2 overlayed widgets, where on gets destroyed. What you could do to solve it is either one of the following:

1. After your overlap, create a do once node. Only reset it, when your widget is removed (aka at the end of the chain).

Hope I could be of help.

3 Likes

I’ll give that a try thought it might be something like that I did just try it with the remove all widgets node which works but unfortunately it does what it say on the tin and removes all widgets from the screen which would cause problems later down the line when I have more widgets on screen.

@moderategamer - I had this issue and solved it this way attached.