Widget Initialization

Hello, I’m an Unreal Engine Beginner and I have a problem in Widgets initialization. When i’m trying to Create a new instance with CreateWidget function it gives me an EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION error and I’m not able to find a way to solve this issue.
This is my Code:

void AMyHUD::CreateMenu()
{
	if (!exsist) {
		if (PlayerOwner && MenuAsset) {
			MainMenu = CreateWidget<UMenu>(PlayerOwner, MenuAsset);

MainMenu->SetModifiers();
			exsist = true;

}
	}
}

and here MyHUD.h

UCLASS()
class IMPRESSIONISMO_API AMyHUD : public AHUD
{
	GENERATED_BODY()

bool exsist = false;

public:

UPROPERTY(EditAnywhere)
		TSubclassOf<class UMenu> MenuAsset;

class UMenu* MainMenu=nullptr;

void CreateMenu();
	void DisplayMenu();
	void DestroyMenu();
};

UMenu is a subclass of UUserWidget that I have created in c++. UMenu is a parent class of the blueprint class stored into MenuAsset.
Thanks for the help.

Hi!
You need to add UPROPERTY macro for your pointer variables.

UPROPERTY()
UMenu* MainMenu = nullptr;

EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION means that you are trying to access null pointer.
GarbageCollectors keep track of every created UObject. If you don’t have any pointer with the address of this UObject then the garbage collector will destroy it to free the memory. But garbage collector knows only about pointers that are marked with UPROPERTY macro.
Also, you should always check your pointers before using them.

There are some links that could be useful:

Another possibility is that your AMyHUD pointer is null.
Breaking on that access violation in the debugger, and looking at the various variable values, is an important step in debugging!

Hi,
I tried to add UPROPERTY macro in the variable declaration but it doesn’t work.
I have read the pages that you have linked and i found it very useful to understand unreal’s basics.
Thanks a lot for the help.

Hi,