Why won't Quixel Brige load in UE 5.3?

I’m new at UE. I have been learning it since 5, and loving all the upgrades with each new version. The Lumen lighting system looked too cool not to test, but…

My troubles started when I upgraded to UE5.3. I have been able to open Quixel Bridge in all previous versions, but all of a sudden it won’t open in 5.3. Sill works fine in previous versions, runs fine as a standalone on my machine, but when I try to open it inside the editor in 5.3 it pops up a new window, but the UI never loads.

Any idea what the problem could be? I can’t seem to find anything in google searches, so thought I’d come here to the people who probably know best.

If it matters/helps, I’m running UE5.3 on my 2019 Macbookpro, 2.4g 8 core i9, 64GB RAM, AMD Radeon Pro 5600M GPU.

Any help/insight appreciated!

When did you install it? It could be that it hasn’t been updated to the latest version causing issues for you.

I updated right when the new version came out, but didn’t test it on a project until a couple weeks ago.

Bridge shows it’s installed when I check in the launcher, and it shows up in the “+” drop down menu in UE5.3 when I have the editor open, it just wont bring up the UI so I can push Quixel assets into the project file whenI try to launch it from within the editor.

TBH, I THINK it did work before because I had a project I was working on in 5.1 that I brought into 5.3. The 5.3 version has all sorts of Quixel assets in it that aren’t in the version saved from 5.1 (and I know I didn’t manually import any), but I’m not 100% sure I’m remembering correctly, so not sure if something went awry, or if it never worked in 5.3.

I’ve tried full uninstall/reinstall for 5.3 and Bridge, but no luck so far any time I try to launch Bridge from within the UE5.3 editor.

Has anyone else mentioned Quixel Bridge not working from within UE5.3, or just me?

I have the same problem, it worked fine in 5.2, but its not loading in 5.3

1 Like