Why my topdown 2D character slows down when running diagonally along a wall ?

Hey, so I’m making a top down 2D game where the character is 2D but the world is 3D.

Currently, I got this 8-directional sprite character, you can use WASD to walk (600 cm/s max speed and 2500 max acceleration) and you can also press shift to run (950 cm/s max speed 800 max acceleration). You can also move the topdown camera with your mouse.

Here are the character’s movement settings

Also this is blueprints for the WASD/Sprint movement (Sorry if it looks messy I’m a beginner)

Now, the actual issue, I’m making a horror game with chase aspects to it, and I want the chases to be fast paced, my problem is when my character runs diagonally it gets slowed down by the wall. You can watch a video [here]

This can get frustrating because you can get stuck during chase and it will make the gameplay feel clunky (example)

I tried lowering the ground friction which works BUT the gameplay feels like I’m running on ice.

I want something like Undertale when you walk diagonally towards a wall it makes you walk along with it

What I think Undertale has is when you are moving in a direction (Let’s pretend it’s left) once you hit a wall in your left, your character simply stops moving, so when you are pressing Up Left for example, once you hit a wall the Left input is ignored and only the Up input is affecting the character.

I want to recreate that mechanic, any help is appreciated :pray:

Hello,

I need clarification:

If the player is against the wall and they press UP or DOWN, the character moves just fine? But if they are against the wall and they press UP + LEFT/RIGHT or DOWN + LEFT/RIGHT, you encounter the issue?

2 Likes

You should keep that to tell the player not to run into walls. Just saying. That is probably because it generates collisions too many times. Scratch is a good example of this.

2 Likes