Why is door open timeline affected by door close set play rate?

Hi,

I am new to using UE4 and Blueprint.

I am trying to make a simple door open close system. I have a C++ variable exposed to blueprint called door close delay which is the time in seconds to close a door. So the inverse is the rate of closing. The timeline graph is a measure of fraction from 0 to 1 of the door open angle.
It seems to work fine but I have a hard time not being able to understand as to why the door opening is also affected by the same delay as the closing. In other words, the door opens and closes at the rate determined by door close delay. But I only want the closing to be affected and the opening to use the time set in the event graph.
I do not see a connection between the play rate node which is executed only on door close event and door opening.

Could someone help?

Once you close the door you “set” the play rate of then timeline to the door close rate. So the first time the door opens should be fine the first time you close the door you set the timeline rate to the door close rate so any door opening thereafter would use the door close rate. You need to reset the timeline rate during door opening to the door open rate you desire.

Thanks for the reply! Wow, that’s interesting. So is the time set in the event graph not used at all if the door closed event is the first thing that executes on Game play? In my current design, the door close event is always fired unless a trigger causes the door open to fire. So should I be using another play rate node with a hard coded rate that needs to go into the “Play” pin of the timeline for door open case? Is the the way to ideally do it if I need different open and close rates?