Why does unreal engine require too much RAM ?

I have zero knowledge in game dev. All my exp is in C++, Qt, Linux dev and other stuff. I have never done game dev before.

I was wondering why the person who wrote the unreal engine docs require this ridiculously high amount for RAM (32GB) for unreal engine on Linux.

1. Is it cuz the engine has great parts of it written in an interpreted slow resource eating language ?

OR

1. The engine is really efficient, written in a compiled language that respects the user’s resources … but the engine is really big and loads lots of stuff in the RAM ?

Which case from the above is unreal engine ?

In any code i write, i prefer as much as possible to use C, C++ or Rust, a compiled language that will be as resource efficient as possible, use only the needed RAM and CPU to do the task, so that the user’s resources are respected, even if i will spend more time writing the app. This will eventually allow the user to run more light-weighted apps at once on one device, improve startup time etc.

Also in the engine github repo, the percentage of the languages used in the engine are not visible !
What are the percentages of the languages used in the engine ?
How much RAM does the engine use initially when it starts up ?

I exclusively use unreal on linux and have only seen it go above or near 32gb during compile or with huge landscapes. But afaik the build system will limit the parallel build processes based on memory.

Also you should factor in just how much the editor can do. Its pretty efficient imho for what it offers, fitting all it does in the rather small amount of ram is impressive. 32gb is not ridiculously high for game development of serious games.