Why does this suck so badly?

I’m a c# programmer and sysadmin by profession.
I have been trying to learn unreal for I don’t even know how long. Every few months I will make a new project and try to get something done but there is always some roadblock, always janky code, always terrible documentation and I get fed up and quit.

It seems like there are all these wonderful ease of use enhancements for visuals and mapping and everything else, but the code is still a giant middle finger blazing in the night sky.
I’ve tried unrealCLR and meh, its better but does not have feature parity with the janky mess that is unreal C++.

and that doesn’t even touch on the fact that the documentation for literally everything is subpar or worse. out of date, depreciated with no links to what replaced the depreciated feature. I’m in awe at how anyone makes anything with this jumbled mess.

I’ve tried Unity, I like coding in unity, but unreal has the best feature set from what I can see. Nanite? Lumen? All fantastic forward facing features but when I can’t even get GAS implemented properly half the time what is the point?

and this isn’t a C++ vs C# debate or anything. The unreal API just plain sucks. nothing is intuitive. none of my years of programming experience carries over and thats a serious problem.

and don’t get me started on crashes! this house of cards crumbles if you look at it wrong.
I’m sorry that I’m ranting but I’ve had it up to here with trying to learn this ■■■■ thing.

19 Likes

I’ve been working in Unreal from 3 months now. I started with Blueprint to get to know the APi and to get things done fast.
I’m now moving to C++ and I really don’t know what you are talking about. Junky mess? C++ in Unreal is both easy and clean.