Why does a widget need a canvas?

I am a learning beginner.

What is the purpose of deleting the canvas when using multiple widgets? For example, some help guides will create a main HUD widget with say just health and magic progress bars. Then in another separate widget say for inventory they will delete the canvas and set the fill screen to desired. I sort of understand using the main HUD widget to call to get a reference to the Inventory widget. I don’t understand the significance not having a canvas on a widget.

When I try this and later want to adjust something, the referenced widget is placed off screen. Or I am unable to adjust size or other things of that nature. For me, with my level of understanding, not only does it makes sense to have all info on one widget, I feel like I’m getting more accomplished. But I also want to know why or why not I’m doing something.

1 Like

Canvas serves a very specific purpose, no other widget allows you to:

• anchor (because you want the minimap to always be in the upper right with a 10x10px margin even if the screen size changes)
  • zOrder (what shows on top of what - you’re flipping records in a jukebox and it’s a carousel-style menu, things will overlap)
  • directly dictate relative children position and their size (movable windows perhaps or placing other widgets in arbitrary positions)

What is the purpose of deleting the
canvas when using multiple widgets?

Does your widget need the above-mentioned features? No? Then remove the canvas. You’ll be saving on performance and declutter the hierarchy.

I think that some of the confusion comes from the fact that the canvas is present in a default new widget. Imagine how much more confusion there would be if it was the progress bar being there by default. You’d delete that, surely, since you do not need a progress bar in every widget. Canvas just happens to be there by default.

I don’t understand the significance
not having a canvas on a widget.