Why attend the european Unreal Developer Day?

Hi,

I’ve posted a similar question on the AnswerHub expecting more visibility from Epic itself, but I would like to know if anybody here has something to say about this.

I’m an italian student and I’m interested in attending the Unreal Developer Day the next April,17th, but I would like to know if you think that’s worth it, from my perspective, worrying about booking travel and accomodation for an half-day event. I was looking for more details about this event, but I found nearly nothing. If I was from UK I would definitely take a train, attend, and be home by the evening, but my situation is very different, and I guess many of you from elsewhere than UK are having the same question.

If anybody has something to say about this, I’m looking forward to read it :slight_smile:

Well I wouldn’t expect much from it… I would like to be there too but it doesn’t sound like it’s worth going through the trouble of finding tickets, booking hotel room (actually you don’t really need a hotel room) etc. just to be there for a few hours (it’s not cheap either :p) but that’s just me, you might enjoy traveling more than I do.
Regardless I think it would be a great opportunity to meet like minded developers and make some connections if nothing else.

Yeah, I think so too…
About the hotel room, you say one doesn’t really need one. Please, tell me that accomodation is provided by Epic xD

No unfortunately xD what I meant was that if you can book your flight at the right time you can go directly to the event and then fly back when done, so you don’t necessarily need to stay at a hotel if you are going to be there for just a few hours.

I wish that would be an option, but airports are not close enough to do so I guess.

They have cookies.

argh, I wish I could go but I have a doctors appointment that day, right at noon. Shame, it’s only an hour or two away by train.