Why are no Events within the MyCharacter EventGraph firing? (Top Down Template - Camera Setup/Character Blueprint)

Hey guys,

I’m pretty new to UE4, so after watching a few tutorial videos, digging through the documentation, and fiddling with the Editor, I’m currently playing around with the Blueprint Top Down Template Project.

While that project is a good base template for what I want to do, I though the camera needed tweaking. I wanted to get the user input on some axis (Mouse X), translate it to a rotation change, and apply that to the camera boom. I put together a simple Blueprint script for that. However, I noticed that the events in my script wouldn’t start the execution line once I start the game.

Now, for getting to the root of this, I set up a script containing “F” (keyboard key) as the event, and “print” with default values as the result. This script works just fine within the “MyController” Blueprint, however in the “MyCharacter” Blueprint it does not. My reason for putting it in the “MyCharacter” Blueprint in the first place was that since the camera and camera boom are components in the MyCharacter Blueprint, if I want to access them I need to do it there.

Does anyone know why, and what I can do to change it? Maybe I’m doing this entirely the wrong way, even? Any help would be greatly appreciated. :slight_smile:

How to reproduce the problem:

You can reproduce this in a fresh Top Down Blueprint Template Project (including starter content) by adding a simple “Key input → print” script to the EventGraph first of the “MyCharacter” Blueprint, then to the “MyController” Blueprint. I have already tried various ways to enable input on the MyCharacter Blueprint, i.e. setting “Auto Receive Input” to “player 0” in the defaults, or adding another script that enables input on “Being Play”, but to no avail.

Howdy!