Which one should i choose?

Hello everyone,

I design ,and code ,but I am beginner in using a game engine.I realized that there are two options .One of them C++ , other one is blueprint.I know to code with C++ ; in contrast to that, I have no idea what blueprint is.Which one is more appropriate to use and why?

If you know how to code in C++ I recommend you do that.
Blueprints is a node-based visual scripting language the Epic engineers made to make scripting easier. It’s easy to use, compiles fast and works great for testing out new ideas on the fly. But its performance is worse than pure C++ code and your options are more limited in what you can achieve.

like MPalacios was saying, blueprints is great for testing out new ideas, u might want to build your whole game in blue prints for the sake fast building, and “then” move the heavy math areas over to c++.

I believe that’s how its intended to be used, blueprints will be ok for non math stuffs I believe? newbie here, but from what I understand fornite is 80% built in blue prints and only 20% in c++, the 20% that is in c++ are the math heavy areas.

but that’s a good 80% in blue prints( in a “live” shipped game), that makes them something like a billion a year, so ya blueprints is worth looking into.

God Bless you. May Jesus Christ be Charitable unto you.

Acts 10 : 33 - 48, google it, its Awesome.

Where did you get that from? I’d be really surprised if it were true… I’m a real rooky in both UE4 and c++, but even at my stage I can see the superiority of c++ in almost every aspect, be it processing speed, clarity of logic, portability (with c++ you can literally copy/paste, not only a class, but a whole system project to project with very little hassle, try doing so with BP)…
Blueprints are superior for faster iteration and accessibility for designers. That would lead me, if I had to guess that Fortnite would be more 80% c++ and 20% BP :slight_smile: