Which objects to store which bits of save game blueprints?

(not sure what happened to my other question that was awaiting mod review for the last 3 days, so I’ll add this in the meantime as it’s related)…

I’m new to working with save game files and I think I understand the basic idea, although I’m struggling to determine exactly which bits of logic I save in which blueprints and how to communicate between them without replicating anything. I’m using the gameinstance to pull/push data to the save game slots, then send it back to other blueprints in the game.

The game is a soloplayer rpg that allows a max of 3 save game slots per user account (1 slot per character). I’ve created a custom save game blueprint containing the list of variables that need to be stored with default values to begin along with a custom game instance blueprint.

• On the main start menu screen blueprint are buttons to load up each of these 3 slots if/when they are created. Plus a button to delete each one. A button underneath that searches for the next free slot and creates a save game file for that slot (or returns an error if they are all taken). Then the player is sent to the create character set of menu screens.
  • On the create character menu screen, the player picks a race to play as, then the ‘Next’ button saves that data to the ‘CharRace’ variable in that slot. If the player clicks on the ‘Back to Main Menu’ button, it searches for any slot where the ‘CharFate’ variable is still set to ‘Unknown’ (default value) as Fate is the last variable to be changed when a new character is created. If any are still saved as ‘Unknown’ then that slot is deleted. All the ‘Back to Menu’ buttons in the character creation process have this event run, as it assumes the character wasn’t completed and the slot should therefore remain free to re-use.