Where to start?

Hey guys,
I’m fairly new to Unreal Engine and was just wondering if i could get some advice on the best place to start?
I really like designing levels and ive done some basic stuff in Unity. I’ve followed the main Unreal Engine tutorials on YouTube but was wondering what you guys think is a good place to start.
Should i just experiment?

Thanks!

If you like designing levels look for some team to join, and for that best would be this subforum: https://forums.unrealengine.com/forumdisplay.php?76-Job-Offerings

Just find team that is already doing some levels else you may wait forever for some assets or even idea about artstyle.

Or you could go to unreal tournament forums, and do levels for new ut.

Just start from a small project, even if it doesn’t pay you much. Once you start you will have some problems, feel free to ask your questions here, there are plenty of knowledgeable and helpful people here on this forum :slight_smile: All the best

Don’t just watch the tutorials, do them, it’s the best ways to understand Blueprint and the overall workflow, I’d start there.

I’m not sure if ive got the experience for doing jobs with other people. I’m still in the learning phase. as you said it does take “forever” for assets.
Do you still think i should give it a go and work with a team thats making some levels?

You could always get free infinity blade assets and make some levels.

Yeah that sounds like a good idea! not sure why i didnt think of that haha

Have you considered starting with ArchViz, then mixing up themes for something unique?

Well your not gonna do much if you not familiar with how to use the UE4 cause I understand Unity is much different from this.

1 25 tips for Unreal Engine 4 | Creative Bloq

2 Just start learning how to use the UE4 cause it may not be your thing. Many come and go mainly go.

Best place I know is this.

Many just single out areas and make assets, music, ect