Where to start...

Welcome!

I bet that I am not the first one with this kind of question :slight_smile:

Where to start… As my parents bought the 1st PC (I was 8 probably) I started playing a lot of games, I had some attempts to start coding in Pascal, but I was just a little boy and I stopped it. Do I regret this? I am not sure. I am sure tough that now I want to be connected with the game industry. I’ve finished univeristy (management and production engineering), I’ve worked for 3 years after graduation. I always had the feeling that I have to create something, back in junior school I was making movies and I’ve won some prizes. After that came the “reality” - go to university, get a job, forget about games and computers… the longer I work like that the bigger need of change I feel.

Generally I would like to make games (like thousands of us), I’m 27 and here is the question. Isn’t that too late? I know that nowadays ‘follow your dream, make your dream come true’ is popular, but to be honest- it’s ********, think about a kid without legs, that dreams to be a runner- will it happen if he will want it really, really hard? :slight_smile:

Where should I start? Learning coding, drawing, animating will take some time. Wouldn’t it be better to focus on becoming a producer? On the other hand, if I learn c++ (i started with learncpp.com) and even if I fail with entering game industry, I may find some other job that requires knowledge of c++. Even not expirienced coders have higher sallaries than I have now, with 2 year exp.