Where to start?

Howdy! My name is , I’m new to Unreal (and game design in general), and had a simple question for the experienced users here. Where do I start?

I chose to learn Unreal as a hobby because creating my own game has been a dream since I was nine years old, playing mariokart on the n64 and thinking, ****, I wish I could make my own tracks, new powerups, and characters. I also picked Unreal because of the sheer amount of educative material and documentation. Seriously, its fantastic how much support there is for beginners. But I found myself overwhelmed by it all. I’d like to create an online, server based game with character levels, weapons, an open world, lots of monsters, intricate bosses, and more, but where does one begin for something of this size? By no means do I intend on this becoming a public title but rather something I can sink hours and hours into and feel like I’m creating something great that I can goof around on with friends. Do I begin with level design? Combat? The multiplayer aspects such as getting multiple people into the same place? UI? There’s just so much that I’d like to do and learn but it all seems to link together and rely on one another.

If anyone has advice on where to start, what to learn first, or just tips to help me out, I’d appreciate it greatly!

Hello! And welcome to UE4! :slight_smile:

I would recommend you start by watching Epic’s Video tutorials. Also if you prefer reading, try Kiatus Books.

It’s hard to say were to start in terms of game devolpment. I would say you should learn how to level design, blueprints. And I would also recommend that you learn (Or have someone make) assets (Textures, sounds, 3d models and animation.).

I hope that helps! ALSO! I forgot the most important thing. Never give up. :slight_smile: