Where to start

I am pretty new to this I am checking out the unreal 4 youtube videos on the unreal channel but i don’t know where to start. Where would everyone recommend I start at?

What do you want to do?

https:///playlist?list=PLZlv_N0_O1gaCL2XjKluO7N2Pmmw9pvhE

here then you can wonder off but get the basics

I would like to learn as much as I can i have had a idea for a FPS for some time now and I want to bring it to life. I have been to the tutorials on youtube is there a place where I should start at because there is so many video I don’t know where to start.

The most important question is, if you want to work in the game dev. industry or if you just do it as a hobby/or you just want to create your own game.

Industry -> concentrate onto 1-2 sections (e.g just 3d artist, level designer,…)
Hobby -> start with learning a 3d program, because you will need many models when you want to create your own game :wink:

Hmm i am making a first person shooter game but i ran though all the tutorial before i started, and now i just watch the new ones and hunt for ones specific to what i need done. Right now looking around for tessellation and advance material tutorials.

I started with materials and blueprint then moved to level design. but you can start at level design then move to materials then blue print, and then the others.

I want to thank all you guys for your help! I think i’m going to take the same way wizzkidsan did and see how it goes!

Cool my way just get you to know the engine then you still have to pick a part you want to do, i want to be a level designer/ blueprint scripter. if you have programming skill or 3d art skills you might want to focus on coding tutorials or material tutorials.

If I may put in my two cents, I would also suggest you break apart some of the pre-made stuff from the Market place and try and understand how they are doing something then jump write into a very small part of your game while it is still fresh. Good Luck!