Where to start with my project

Ive just been given a project in work and I’m convinced Unreal would be perfect for it in the long run. Problem is my boss doesn’t quite see it that way. So I was hoping to put something together to show off what Unreal can offer.
Problem is I’m still a bit of a novice and I’ve only got until the end of October to get something made (at least for this event, there may be further opportunities in the future).

Basically what I want to create is something for our sales department that shows off our products and how they inegrate with the world.

So what I can picture in my head currently is a sort of interactive ‘world map’ that shows off different products and different areas of society (homes, business, vehicles). When you select one area/item it becomes slightly larger and also highlights the different links to other sections of the map. You can then go in for a closer more detailed look of the selected item.

This should be more than enough to keep me occupied for the next month, so if anyone knows what might be a good starting point or some good tutorials that would be helpful in producing something like this then please let me know.

Obviously I’m not expecting to have it all singing all dancing in less than 30 days given my current skill level, but if I can produce something that I can show to my boss that at the very least could give me more time to work on it, then I’d count that as a win.

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

Hey PX54, welcome to the forums!

We really appreciate you having us in mind for your project, and from the sound of it you’ll be able to do what you want and far more, hopefully we can assist you with impressing that boss of yours!

Now something you might see a lot while searching for information is Blueprint vs C++. For your purposes you’ll want to stick with our robust Blueprint system, created with designers in mind, not programmers!