Where to start? (turnbased rpg)

Hey folks!

I’m new to the engine and I wanna use this thread first to get some starting advise and maybe later I’ll be back with specific questions.

I wanna start by explaining where I’m coming from/where I’m at and then where I wanna go.

Where I’m coming from:

I got some experience as a gamedev, since I developed the 2D rpg DEEP 8 in RPG Maker. This took around 17 years, so I’m not shy of doing the work. I did pretty much everything myself, including 3D artworks in Blender, so I got in touch with some 3D stuff as well, which certainly will come in handy switching to a 3D engine.
My worst enemy is probably programming. My brain is just not specifically made for that, although I did program a battlesystem, menu etc. for DEEP 8. So I’m sure with some work I’ll be able to do it in unreal too. Maybe it’s just not gonna be the most elegant code. :wink: I can live with that, as long as it works.

Where I wanna go:

My plan is now to develop an ambitious 3D rpg with maybe a retro touch to it, possibly limited resolution or so, I’m not so sure of that yet. I wanna use fixed cameras and optionally tank controls. Dynamic cameras will appear, but when they do, you know something special is happening. Graphic wise I don’t plan for it to be photorealistic or anything, yet not super stylized either. Maybe roughly something like PS2 graphics, assets. Maybe slightly higher resolution, 720p or so, but not HD, so I don’t get overwhelmed with creating detailed textures.

Once again I wanna build my own ambitious turnbased battle system yet with only one playable character this time. Moreover an elaborate equipment and developing system and up to 10 enemies that can be targeted with skills that have different AOE (area of effect), maybe a little similar to Chrono Trigger.

Where to start?