Where to begin with modeling?

Hey there everyone,

I am a programmer who is using UE4 for the first time. Besides some basic 3D modeling in Solidworks I have not used any other modeling software and quite frankly their UI’s do my head in =(

So I was hoping some one could help me with some links on the best practice of creating models which import correctly into UE4. Below is the method I have been using and the problem I am having with it. But any info on this topic would be great.

For the time being as I haven’t learnt much of any other software this is what I have tried

1. Make a basic model in solidworks
  2. I export this as a .STL file (StereoLithography)
  3. Open 3DS 2014
  4. Import STL
  5. change the texture ID of polygons
  6. apply multi\sub-object with 2 base textures
  7. Export as a .FBX using the options shown in the image below
  8. Import into UE4

Everything imports correctly and the base model looks great and the multi\sub-object (my 2 colors red and blue) are applied fine to the model. The issue comes from when I try to apply any material from within UE4. I get really strange behavior.

I have been reading up on this issue as some one else has mentioned here
https://forums.unrealengine/showthread.php?597-Importing-problems/page2

Why does the model go all funky when applying any material but the base added with 3DS ?

From left to right screenshots are:
Model in 3DS , Export Settings, Model imported and on UE4 canvas, Model with the red material replaced with M_Cobblestone_Smooth

Is your model unwrapped? You will need to lay out the UV’s before material can be properly applied.
In 3ds add the unwrap UVW modifier to your stack. A simple cube based unwrap should do the trick.

I will look into doing that as I have not done that yet. I am very new to 3DS so will take a quick look around see if I can find what you are talking about. I remember reading some one else saying the same thing on another post.