Download

Where do indie devs host their code?

I’ve been dabbling in indie game development for a few months now. I have 2 games in progress right now, a 3rd person shooter and a casual dice game. I’m starting to find out that there is a huge difference between the size of a casual game and something like a shooter where the size of the game is much larger. I’m trying to find a solution allowing me to use source control even for very large projects.

I have been searching for a while and so far the best I can find is GitLab which allows repos to be up to 10GB each. Considering the size of just the KiteDemo content folder is over 6GB I fear 10GB might not even be enough for even a small shooter with 3 or 4 levels. Knowing that indie devs usually do not have a lot of money to throw around it makes me wonder what indie devs usually use for source control.

I also would like to have my source code open source. Can anyone out there provide my with some ideas to look into?

Usually even small studios setup a local Perforce server. A machine dedicated to it.

After I posted this I did find some info about Perforce. Is it free?

Perforce, when set up for a very small team, is free these days (it didn’t use to be.)
Perforce does not have the local history that Git has, but it is better at merging branches than SVN is. It’s kind-of like “git, only server-side.”
The benefit is that it doesn’t store the full history on the clients, so it uses less local disk space.

Another option is to just host your own Git. That’s what i do – my home fileserver allows ssh login, and I simply create a bare repo in my home directory and push to that.
I can also do that for my “unlimited” shared-web host (dreamhost.com)
After I have a local git repo in my project folder, I can (from the command line) “ssh myname@servername.com git init --bare somename.git” and then “git remote add origin myname@servername.com:somename.git” and then “git push -u origin master”