What's the best way to rig a face for UE4?

I’m an animator working in Maya, and I was wondering what the best way to get facial animation in unreal 4 is? Can it accept blendshapes or does everything have to be bone based? I haven’t messed with it much yet, but the rigging tools that come with unreal 4 only really work for body stuff and not the face, correct? I’m considering transitioning a short film into unreal and just wondering if the limitations are too great to be worth it or not. Thanks!

In UE4 you can use both, bones and blendshapes. If you use blendshapes be aware that it only supports values from 0 to positive 1. As for the rigging tools, it will provide face rigs as well in the future.

Yes, it can do morphs/blendshapes but there’s no dedicated tool for messing with facial animation in UE4, you have to work with facial animations the same way you would work with any other animations.

Thanks for the replies! So in theory I should be able to animate with blendshapes in maya and my animation could be brought into unreal intact then?

You could but something to consider.

The problem with morph targets is they can only be used on player models that are unique and maintain identical vertex counts so if you have ten player models each requiring ten targets you can see how quickly things can get out of hand.

Using bone clusters on the other hand you can reuse the same animations over and over again on any number of player models using the same rig, the same animation sets, and the same asset pipeline.

For example if you add MotionBuilder to the pipeline using clusters you can drive all of your expressions using motion capture or the build in voice device.

Advice wise I would say bones over morphs as it offers a lot more options where morphs more or less paints you into a corner based on a unique not to be repeated need.

This also taking into consideration home brew mo cap has arrived.