Whats a logical process? A lil' help for the noob please

Hey guys, I’m new to game development. Matter of fact, I’m on disability, stuck at home with one working hand so I’ve been messing with Unreal. My question is, I’m pretty good with creating in Blender, but when it comes to developing, say a town. Is it better to create everything in Blender (or any other 3d software) and Import it to Unreal, or do you try and build everything using the Unreal engine? Please keep in mind, I have ZERO program development skills, and I’m merely just tooling around with this stuff. It’s pretty fun. "Thanks!

welcome to UE4 and the forum:).

I make my models in blender then import them into the engine, UE4 cant make models at the same level as a proper 3D app so you wouldn’t get as good results.

The Blender -> UE workflow is a fine way to build game assets. Don’t go overboard building the entire city in Blender, though. Just build bits and pieces. How small should those bits and pieces be? That depends entirely on the game, and the scale of your game world. As an example, if you’re never going to enter a building, and are using them as scenery, then build several buildings in Blender (one at a time), and import them into Unreal. You then arrange them into a city in Unreal by duplicating/rotating/scaling/changing materials to make it look like you have more buildings than you actually do.

Many games use a mixture of external assets and in-game assets.

In fact, assets are often sourced from a variety of places: the Unreal asset store, external 3D programs like Blender, and of course the UE4 editor itself.

And that’s not even including other sources such as procedurally generating geometry, or the terrain system, for example.

Welcome to UE4 and to game development in general!

Welcome to UE4! Always nice to see a new face around here!