What should I do for my first game?

Hello! I am kind of new to UE4 and was wondering what kind of game should I make if it’s my first time making a game. I know quite a lot about 3d modeling and programming and what not but I’ve never finished a game. I’ve only made broken fragments of a game before giving up because of frustration. What is a good first step. I thought about a 3d pong clone, but I wanted to get the input of those more experienced than I. Any ideas are greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Good ideas for first games that I’ve come up with.

• Pong Clone
  • Simple platformer
  • collection game

These are just my opinions, my first game was a platformer which I released a week ago on Kongregate(of course it didn’t garner much attention), though you can generally make mostly anything for your first game. My best advice is keep it simple and make it something that you can feasibly complete in a month.

I can’t agree more with this.

Keep it simple, and try to reproduce another game, with one small twist of your own devising. Make a list of the absolute BASICS required to make this happen, and do not, at any point, deviate from this list. You will learn how to create a game, and how to not take any aspect of modern games for granted; menus, maps, inventories, pickups, buffs, etc… all by hand, all by scratch, and pretty soon, you’ll realize that even simple games are not so simple!

And then make the next big thing :cool:

Something simple you could finish in foreseeable future!