What other software do I need

Hey everyone. My name is . I’m just starting out and I just downloaded unreal engine. I’m going to be a one man team for little bit (I suck at art but willing to work on it). What other software do I need to start making games. I’m going to learn as I go just like I’m learning c++. Please and thank you

It depends on what all you’re trying to accomplish. There’s a whole lot of software out there that you can use to do different things. For myself, I like to use Blender for making 3D models, Krita for editing textures, and Audacity for simple audio editing. All of which are free by the way! There’s also a lot of paid software I’ve heard good things about like 3ds Max, Maya, ZBrush for 3D stuff, Photoshop (which I personally really liked) for textures or whatever, Ableton for making music, and the list goes on.

Since you’re new (and I’m guessing to game development in general) I’d stick to the free stuff and be on the lookout for other software to help you out.

Also, something that would be very useful to know is how to use some Version Control software (the one both I and most folk I know use is Git along with the website GitHub). I usually hear version control compared to a time machine where if you don’t like your latest changes to your code you can roll things back to when they worked. It also keeps a log of what all you’ve been doing and makes things a little easier when collaborating with others. Also, game assets can take up a ton of space so be sure to look into using Git LFS (Large File System) with Unreal.

Last but not least, use the latest version of Visual Studio (not to be confused with Visual Studio Code) for writing C++ in. I forget if that gets preinstalled with Unreal when you first download it through the Epic Games Launcher but it’s a must have if not. I personally wouldn’t use any other IDE (Integrated Development Environment) or text editor.