What is wrong with my game? Why are assets not loading properly?

Hello, everyone!

First of all I’d like to apologize that this question is not about a game that I have created, but rather a game that I’m trying to play - Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order, which uses Unreal Engine 4.21.2. Yes, I’m pretty desperate to come looking for help here. :slight_smile: I looked for forum rules but could not find anything that would forbid this question.

That said, I’m a computer programmer by trade (not a game developer though), so at least I hope I’ll be able to provide plenty of details and feedback to keep this interesting. I’m hoping that someone with enough experience will be able to intuit the problem.

The symptoms are:

The game starts fine and I get to select the difficulty level and then start a new game. Then it stars to load the first (tutorial) level which… usually takes forever. Well, I’ve lost patience after 20 minutes, so maybe it would load after that but I doubt it.

Very few times however I’ve gotten lucky and the level has loaded, but… there were assets missing. NPCs mostly, but also some floating platforms - the lack of one of which prevents my progress.

In the opening cutscene there’s an NPC walking up to me to say something, and he’s invisible for the first part. His speach and subtitles do show up though. Then, just as I gain control of the characer, he suddenly appears for a while until I get to next area where he promptly becomes invisible again.

As I’m walking through the tutorial there’s supposed to be other NPCs on the sides, but they are completely missing - both models and audio.

But then there are two more baffling pieces to this puzzle: