What is Content 'Cooking' and why is it so slow?

Hello!

I’ve worked with several frameworks used for making games before, such as SpriteKit, Cocos2d and Pyglet. This is my first time using something advanced as Unreal Engine. I’m a little unfamiliar with ‘Content Cooking’. Reading the documentation, I’m left with the impression, cooking is preparing textures, perhaps putting them in an optimized format for a particular package (such as iOS,Windows, or Mac). I’m not sure if I’m right about that, or if there is more to it then that. If someone could explain it in greater detail,I would appreciate it (or point me somewhere that does, because the current documentation I find on the Unreal website isn’t really doing it for me).

My last question is, why is it so slow? Using the “basic” template provided in the editor, it takes forever to finish packaging the application. If I do it on my windows machine, its not so bad, maybe like 15 minutes-ish, and I’ have an i7 haswell processor. On my macbook pro, if I move the project over, and try to cook it there, it takes HOURS. Now my macbook pro is far from a beast, but its hard for me to imagine what’s going on that takes so much work. And this is just using a basic template application, I’m concerned what will happen with a real game.

Is there something I’m not getting here? Also, is it possible to do the content cooking for ‘iOS’ on my windows machine, then package it all together on my mac machine since my windows is a lot more powerful? (if so, how would I go about doing this?)

HI! I am wondering the EXACT same thing,… why is cooking content so slow on the mac?

That is actually something we are addressing, which is PVRTexTool is very slow to cook at the best quality level. We are using a new version of the tool on the Mac that defaults to best quality. The old Windows version was fast, but probably not as good quality.