Download

What configuration for UE5 ?

Hello !

So ! Very Enthousiastic ! UE5 next year ! I was just about to buy a new computer to replace my 12 years old computer and my Nvidia GTX460…I know it’s very old…so I will probably buy a I9-10940X, a Asrock X299 Creator, 256 GB of G.skill Rip Jaw5 and a MSI Geforce RTX 2080TI. I started learning UE4 for a year now and I really think it’s the futur for a lot of artists (I am photographer). My project is very ambitious and and I was betting on a technology like the new UE5 to be able to complete the project…but was expecting it in the next 5 years not next year !!! So what a good surprise !!!

But now I afraid : Nanite, Lumen…ok…fantastic…but what does it means for developpers ? what kind of computer will be necesseary to handle this ? because, has you know, we need much more memory, graphic ressource, to build the game than to run the game…on my very old computer compiling shaders is a nightmare…so much that I have cut my project in sub-projects to be able to develop AI, characters animation, landscape, physics whithout to wait each time the computer to re-compile all… for sometimes hours…

So ! to make it short :

**what is the recommended computer config to be ready for UE5 ? **

Probably it will help a lot may of us if Epic could give us some technical spec. Thanks Epic!

I also got an i9 with SSD and 2080ti.
If that is not enough I give up life…

Judging by what has been told one would need a couple of NVMe drives too, surely - hoping that 3GBps read is enough to work comfortably; in addition to that chunky 3080Ti :wink: ofc.

Oh so we gotta buy a DGX A100 to use Unreal now?!
Hey EPICz… Can I haz another Mega Grant pleaz?

@oniregoc Hi. It’s better to get 16-core Ryzen 3950X instead of 10940X.
3950X is cooler, more perfomant, has more cores.