What are your thoughts on a career as a Solo Dev with UE4?

was wondering this what do you guys think about being a Solo Dev and making a 3D UE4 game which will be a 2.5D side scroller shooter, but like a good game not just a bad game but one that would be worth playing, like say a Metal Slug Clone.

Mainly for Steam because I found out that Mobile doesn’t really have any money among the millions of free games.

My aim is to make either a platformer or a FPS title, one that I would love to play, I am a very picky gamer and few games satisfy me, so I have a good metric to judge my game on which is myself. I have my plan on marketing etc already worked out it will be done during the development of my game to finish.

I am giving the game development time a total of 5 years to complete. Now 5 years is a lot but like I said i really wanted to make something good.

I am no expert but I think it is possible to do especially with ue4. If a game is completed by just one person, it obviously doesn’t have to sell a million copies to be sustainable like AAA studios require. I think one person can do it with everything available now, especially if they worked 70-80hrs a week doing it…With a small investment there are templates to get a start and everything…
​​​​​

If you keep the scope fairly low and your skill set is diverse enough, it can definitely be done. I wouldn’t say it’s “fun”, but it can be done.

Personally, I’m aiming for a level of complexity (the AA space) on my game I could never fully realize without a small team, but I’ve been working on a publisher greenlight demo and first public trailer (intended to be released at the same time) for about a year and a half – the last two months of which has been full-time. And despite about 11ish years of experience across a number of disciplines, it’s still hard as hell both in development, mentality, and overall optimism for the thing. Not having any team members on a project is just not that great.