What are the best practices for creating a big world?

If I wanted to create a big world, would I create it all in one level or would I create multiple levels and change levels as a character walks into a box collision? BTW, you probably already figured out I’m kind of new at this.

It depends on how big it is, if it’s bigger than 6km squared then you’d need to use World Composition, where it will connect multiple tiles of the world and control how they get loaded in and switched around.

Thanks for that advice.

Hi @DonaldFaulknor.

In my opinion, there are several factors. The first would be single player or multiplayer. Things get tricky with multiplayer see the big world documentation. Another factor to consider is the construction of the game world environment using unrealengine landscapes or custom solutions like voxels. Is there a significant amount of Architecture? You may find yourself creating custom occlusion methods and transportal systems to optimize. Its a lot of work to create a large environment, so you may find yourself seeking procedural generation systems and techniques (which is what Im doing as a solo dev).

Good Luck.

Not really. Mostly wide open with grass, sand, and paths/roads. Maybe a few buildings scattered around. They’ll be towns along the pathway, but I already planned on making the towns as their own levels… assuming that’s good practice? I just don’t want it to lag a lot and I would think if a big area has to load entirely, it would lag, right? Is there a way to make pieces of a level load only when the player gets in view of it?