Weird jitter in VR when Camera Moves

Hi Everyone,

I’m currently developing a VR driving simulator in 4.23 and ran into a very weird effect that only shows up when you are wearing the VR Headset not in the preview window Essentially what happens is when i move the vehicle forward (The player camera is in another BP attached to the Vehicle pawn as a Child actor, if that matters) a weird bubble like effect appears all around the geometry, and no line looks straight but once i return to a standstill everything goes back to normal, I’ve looked online a bit and haven’t been able to find a solution.

I’m relatively new to developing in VR so idk what the issue could be, if anyone has any ideas it would be much appreciated.

It looks like it’s going through a car wash that is starting to tear through the fabric of space/time into the car! It appears to be a collision issue, and possibly combined with a bounding box problem. To check the bounding box problem, go to the Show button in viewport, then to Visualization, and check “Pixels Out of Bounds”. Look it up in the doc pages too by doing a search for that visualization option, “Pixels Out of Bounds”, because it describes how it works. It appears that the bubbly / grey pixels are getting pushed inside the bounds of the vehicle. Is that the color / texture of the sky? or surrounding geometry in the level? or is it not there at all until moving the vehicle?

I’ve found a solution, based on this post,

[Solution Post][1]

Turns out, that if you can’t keep and acceptable FPS SteamVR will do some smoothing and cause that effect to happen, I scrapped my scene and made a new one with less detail and i no longer get the issue while using the headset.