Weird bug with multi-slot save/load system

Hi there, I’m relatively new to UE (2 years more or less) and I’m currently in a team working on a project. I deal with all the UI visuals and scripting + additional ones, and right now I’m working on a save/load system with multiple slots that the player can create with a custom entered name.

Usually I manage to come up to a solution on my own, but this time it’s really driving me nuts. I get a specific, weird bug from saving and loading that I really don’t understand. I tried almost everything it could come up to my mind as the possible culprit, but nothing seemed to work and I can’t seem to find the answer anywhere online.

The system I’ve built uses two savegame objects created at the start of the game in the game instance with a isvalid? Check

One savegame object is to store all play data (like character stats, inventory, level name) and the other to store video and audio settings along with slots parameters like entered name, if the slot is read only and can be used to load, and screenshot taken from a scenecapture2D attached to character’s main camera.

As for the slots system, I have 4 max placed on a grid, not accessible until first slot is taken and first save is done.

I have two setups in the main menu: new game and load game. When the player choses new game, custom text can be entered and, when committed, is stored in the savegame object and assigned to the first available game slot.

The four slots are instances of another SaveSlot widget which also stores several editable variables such as slot number, slot text, a boolean to tell if the slot has been used and so if has to be loadable or not, screenshot brush and visibility, and so on.

Individual slot save and load logic are handled by custom events in the SaveSlot widget itself with reference to the slot number when pressed.