Weapon Switching - Referencing the Current Weapon

I’m new to UE4 an have been following along with the excellent TwinStickShooter tutorials from the Epic Games team on YouTube. I’ve hit a bit of a snag in terms of weapon pickups and editing variables.

Goal: Weapon Pickup replaces current weapon.

Problem: Weapon Pickup cannot modify ‘CurrentWeapon’ variable used to drive shooting functions

Weapon is spawned on begin play and set as a variable, ‘CurrentWeapon’. This variable drives shooting events by triggering Fire events on the weapon.

When triggered by a pickup, WeaponBlueLaser (created as a child of the original weapon blueprint) spawns an actor of the same name, destroys the old actor and attempts to set the ‘CurrentWeapon’ variable to accurately refer to the new weapon. However, it is not possible to set this to be the new value of ‘CurrentWeapon’.

I guess my questions are:

1. Can you change the value of a variable referring to an actor, or is there a method of clearing the value to store a new one in the same variable?
  2. Is it possible to call custom events of identical names on whatever the attached actor is, without defining specific “IF Weapon 1, Fire Weapon 1, IF weapon 2, Fire Weapon 2…” etc.

I suspect that I’m missing some very basic principles, considering how logical I feel this should work and how I can’t wrap my ahead around another way without having access to a CurrentWeapon variable that updates. Any nudges in the right direction would be very much appreciated, thanks!