"Weapon" Socket

Hello all! I am totally new to the world of animation. I’ve finally gotten my first person arm rig (rigged in A.R.T) working and now I need to attach items to my hand. I understand that I should do this by attaching it to a socket, but I have a few questions. When I attach meshes to “hand_l” or “hand_r”, the mesh is attached to the wrist (which is expected), but how do people get it in the hand? Do they move it manually? Should I create a new Leaf module? I remember seeing a couple bones on Mixamo models as well as the ThirdPersonCharacter from the samples called “ik_hand_l” or something like that. How would I go about creating IK handles? I’m really confused. In the end, I just need to be able to have my item attach to my hand perfectly. Any help? Lol thanks! :slight_smile:

About sockets - it’s pretty easy! Seems like you’ve missed core element of sockets workflow - sockets :stuck_out_tongue:
Select your “hand_l”, right click and create socket. Then in settings you can customize it further - add relative to parent bone rotation, offset and scale. It’s basically allow to have socket in a position for holding sword, for example + getting data from parent bone

Thanks for the reply! I actually found that last night right after I posted this. What is the difference between attaching actors to sockets added in Unreal and attaching actors to a socket called “ik_something”? Is it still better to create sockets in A.R.T? Thanks! :slight_smile:

One thing you may have to do is that you might have to adjust the (0,0,0) point on your weapon model to have everything line up properly with the hand socket.