Ways to approach a larger project with limited (but existing) knowledge of C++?

Hello guys!

I know it’s a bit of a random question but I’ve been questionning myself about the development of a personal project that I’ve been prototyping quite extensively using Blueprints only for a while now. For now I’m focused on getting the mechanics of my character done. It has ton of movement capabilities (wallruns, ledge grab, wallclimb, rope balancing, dodge roll, sprint, double jump, dashing, you name it…) and my character blueprint is becoming quite large (probably nearing like 1k nodes).

Now I must first say that I’ve some knowledge of C++ but it’s not that great which is a bit of my concern. Years ago I tried to program the A* pathfinding allgorithm with SDL using a pixelated character seen from top that could move around the world. It was buggy as possible but I managed it, sort of. So yeah not great programming skills but I can read C++ and I’m not necessarely scared of getting my hands dirty. I’m just thinking about productivity right now since I’m trying to tackle a kinda big thing totally alone and am an artist first of all.

1. I know blueprint is ~10times slower than CPP and there’s nativization tool to help but at this point I’m not sure when, if anytime at all, should someone say “okay, at this point this should probably be done in c++”. Is making a medium-sized solo-game purely with Blueprint viable? (because so far I’ve not encountered anything that I couldn’t do with Blueprints, it’s so fricking good) How much should someone worry about the performance of blueprints vs cpp when targetting higher-ends pc?