Warning message: Video Memory has been exhausted (306.614 MB over budget). HELP!

Hi,
I just started with Unreal Engine 5.3.1. But before I even did anything, I saw the following warning message in the main window:

Video Memory has been exhausted (306.614 MB over budget). Expect extremely poor performance."

I’m running the program on a 2022 Surface Laptop Studio with Intel Core i7, 32GBRAM, 1TB SSD, NVIDIA® GeForce
The Value Field for the video card reads PCIVEN_10DE&DEV_25A0&SUBSYS_00541414&REV_A1\4&32093AAF&0&00E8 which I was told means the machine has 16 gigabytes (GB) of video card memory.

I downloaded the latest NVIDIA driver and software. It didn’t help.

I spent a few hours plowing through this forum.

I tried one fix that was easy enough to follow. I changed the VRAM value from 70 to 0.
I did that in aWindows config file>C:\ProgramFiles\Epic Games\UE_5.0EA\Engine\Config\Windows\ WindowsEngine. It didn’t help.
Most suggestions I couldn’t follow. I’m not a developer; I’m a user and a novice.

Here are my questions.

1. Can I assume that my laptop computer is fully capable of running UE5, especially since the project has hardly any items loaded?

2. Is there an easy fix? A fix that is easy enough to follow for a UE novice like me? I need step-by-step instructions. Could you please provide me a link?

3. If there isn’t an easy-to-follow fix, can I buy this hand-holding service? Can I get in touch with someone who would know what changes I need to make and could guide me through the process? Maybe a web meeting with a tutor or the like. Could you direct me to such a site or person?

Thanks in advance!
Martin

2 Likes

I think that 16gb ram, may be shared memory. So if system wants more RAM it lowers video ram. You should check that in nvidia panel. Or post exact model here, maybe somebody knows how ram is allocated in your laptop.

2 Likes