wait time after basic changes

Hi,

I’m just getting started, but it seems like often times I have a pretty good wait time when I do certain changes, that when I watch people do these changes in video’s they don’t have. So I’m wondering if I just don’t have a setting wrong or something (everything is I think default).

For example, if I bring in a basic box, and change the dimensions it literally takes 10-15 seconds.

I have an i-7 920 with 24 gbs of ram and a GTX 760, so I don’t think it’s the computer.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

You shouldnt be having any problems at all with that system. It may be related to the gfx driver, the OS or something running in the background.

I restarted my computer and that helped some, but it’s still seems laggy.

Question, I made a pretty big map with the landscape tool, could that be causing it? Should I start with a smaller map instead?

It could be that the landscape is causing that, but when exactly do you have those “lags”? e.g when they just appear when you use brushes, you could turn off update bsp automatically. You can do that in Edit>EditorPreferences>Miscellaneous

I doubt it. I have an i5 3570, 8GB RAM, GTX 460, and i can have a 4033x4033 landscape and work without a problem.

Edit: After seeing 's post i should point out that i dont use BSP’s.

I get the lags if I do something like resize or move a simple box (amongst other things). I will try changing those settings and see if it helps.

Thanks,

Well, I went ahead and ordered a new i7-4930 plus mb and SSD drive. I figure that plus a clean install should fix a multitude of sins. Looking forward to getting it going over the weekend.

You could have tried formatting the PC before ordering new parts, but anyway…you’ll have a happier life with that CPU and SSD!