VS 2013? For Android? Really?

I’m getting more cantankerous with age, so pardon my gripes. Is there any intent to update Android build tool dependency to leave NVidia’s tools behind, and work more directly with current Android build tools?

I get it. I’m a developer of many years, so I do understand.

It just seems weird to have to install VS 2013 (or older) in order to target Android, in 2017 (took me HOURS to find where I put 2013 so I could re-install).

I used NVidia’s development tools for a short while, too. I had to drop it, the debugger was nuts. Before then, the only native debugger that worked (reliably, repeatedly) was ARM’s DS-5 CE debugger on Eclipse with ADT in Linux. Even VS 2015’s Android tools would lose connection with the debugger on Android devices (haven’t tried 2017). Android Studio, post 2.2.x, even with native code, seems to actually work, even on Windows - and I was very skeptical of it for a while.

But it’s free. Unless I mis-remember (age might do that), you can’t use free versions of VS prior to 2015 to load add-ons like NVidia, so at this point it can be really tough to GET a VS 2013 without buying it, and that might not continue to be possible.

It seems NVidia is not updating their toolset (which makes sense because VS 2015 implemented (reportedly) part of what NVidia offered - native debugging/development within VS).

I find posts HINTING that NDK 15 might be used, but the documentation still references r12b (!?!) as what is installed? There’s A LOT of improvement to the NDK since r12 (and, a lot of trouble/breaking/sweating as we moved through r13/r14).

I was looking to get into android development, but does this mean, everyone that doesnt own VS 2013 or older already has no way to get development working right now?