VR Overstuffed - Solve puzzles, collect objects, have fun

Hi guys,

I’m a solo Indie game developer from Bavaria, Germany. I’ve been doing game development since 2008 as a hobby. Recently I’ve started to work full time on my first commercial game, VR Overstuffed. In this topic I’ll share my progress.

About 3-4 months ago I’ve played my first few virtual reality games on the HTC Vive and I was surprised by the amount games with low quality visuals (aka “programmer art”) and concepts that are not well suited to VR. I thought to myself “yeah, I can do better than that”. Of course we’re all in the same boat, VR is new and game developers first have to adapt and test out what works and what doesn’t work in terms of gameplay. Regardless, that let me to start working on my first VR game.

In VR Overstuffed you find yourself stranded on a tropical island, where you meet a friendly, humorous alien. Together you try to find a way home. On your journey you need to solve physics puzzles to collect objects, that help you to continue your travels. Most puzzles follow the simple rule “use all the objects available to build a tower, without any of them touching the floor”. New levels introduce new, more interesting objects. Besides the story mode, which features the puzzles, there is also a custom mode. The unlocked objects can be used in custom mode to build whatever your imagination comes up with. It’s kind of surprising how much fun it is, to play with random objects in VR, without any instructions or goal imposed by the game. If you like puzzle games like portal or sandbox games like minecraft, I think you’re going to like this.

So far, most of the gameplay features are done and I’m working mainly on more content (environments, levels, objects). The game will be released on steam in Q4 2016. For now, you can check out a quick video below to get a first impression.