Visual Programming for the Visually Impaired

Hi
I am a tutor at a college in the UK. Last year I used UE4 with Blueprints as part of a level 3 Software Development and Games Programming course to great effect.

This year I have a blind student (no light perception at all) who is on the course and wants to learn UE4 using blueprints to create a game with uses audio, rather than visual, cues for the player.

To do this I am trying to get funding for a 3D printer, so I can print out various Blueprint nodes, with Braille, which the student can then connect using real, physical connectors. His learning support assistant can then upload his new network of nodes to the UE4 blueprint editor and he can then run it and see what happens.

To do this I have entered a JISC event, ‘Accessible by Design’ (If anyone wants to vote, I would really appreciate it BTW).

Has anyone on here tried anything like this before?

Any advice anyone can give will be very welcome.

Also, has anyone tried to parse the Blueprint source code you get when you copy and paste a network? We intend doing this in Python, any suggestions on which libraries to use?

Thanks,

Steve.

The blueprint code is just a text file in XML type format so you should be able to parse it pretty easily. There is actually a pretty good website where you can paste in blueprint code and it will display the nodes in a web browser, or you can create blueprints in it.

I do like the idea of physically building the blueprints but it sounds like it would get very difficult to navigate after a while, and there are hundreds of different blueprint nodes, and you would need dozen’s of the same node’s as well. How do you intend to get around this issue?

It seems like an audio reader would probably solve this problem a bit better than a physical solution. Or perhaps a braille screen of some sort?