Video Skybox linked to keyboard control

Hi all, I’m new to Blueprint, having come from more of a development / WebGL background.

I’ve prototyped something in WebGL that I want to move into Blueprint, and I’m wondering if someone could help me figure out how to do it.

Take a look at this video here:

I’ve got a video skybox, and the playback is controlled with the up and down arrow keys.

How do I set up my skybox, camera, and keyboard inputs in Blueprints? I’ve gone through the basic Blueprint tutorials but don’t quite know how to do this yet.

I’m also wanting to create graphic things (cubes are fine for now but eventually trees, foliage, buildings) that move through the space as if they are moving with the video. How can I create this illusion?

Please let me know if that makes any sense. All suggestions are welcome, thanks!

Alright, I’ve managed to get a video skybox texture onto my skysphere, which begins playing when the level begins (via EventBeginPlay). Now I need to disable player movement when the keyboard is pressed, and instead enable video playback while the keyboard is pressed to play and reverse the video. So that means:

1. Unlink keypress to player movement
  2. Link Keypress to video playback instead

My event graph looks like this:

Any ideas out there?

Just create your own player controller.

Setup your up key with a boolean and a tick event to check if its held. Cast to your media asset and set it to play while it’s held. When you let go tell it to pause.

Thanks Zoltan! I managed to get something working based on your suggestions, here’s what I’ve now got in my level blueprint:

Two things happening here (or not happening, rather):

• I want to set the playback speed to be double, but can’t figure out how to do that.